Music Republiq > News > 2012 Tambayan OPM Awards + List of Winners

2012 Tambayan OPM Awards + List of Winners

Published on July 2, 2012

Tambayan OPM Awards

Original Pilipino Music (OPM) was at the spotlight once again as radio station Tambayan 101.9 honored local music’s finest acts for the past year. Trophies were given to 11 categories based on the following criteria: 30% listeners’ votes, 30% judges’ votes and 40% TOPMA committee’s votes. The big winners for the evening were Angeline Quinto and Vice Ganda who bagged two trophies each.

The show was opened with a number by Ney Dimaculangan, Barbie Almalbis, Cathy Go, Ruben Caballero of Cueshé and Yeng Constantino with songs having a jeepney motif/theme as the stage was also adorned with a front of a jeepney.

Vice Ganda received two awards in the 2012 Tambayan OPM AwardsThe award giving started with a surprise as Paula Bianca won the Best New Artist beating out the likes of the other nominees Angeline Quinto, Bryan Termulo, Zia Quizon and JM De Guzman. Christian Bautista and Vice Ganda had the distinction of the only non-performers present to receive their awards. Christian Bautista won Best Male Artist, while Vice Ganda won Best Novelty Song and the Phenomenal Entertainer of the Year awards. Performers Jovit Baldivino and Angeline Quinto were on hand to personally receive theirs, but Angeline had already left the venue when the Album of the Year award was handed out. Anne Curtis thanked the audience via a video message that was shown on screen.

Aside from the opening number, the other performers at the event were Bugoy Drilon, Liezel Garcia and Bryan Termulo, each singing a track from their latest album releases. Jovit Baldivino, Marcelito Pomoy, Kitchie Nadal, Gloc-9 and Angeline Quinto performed a medley of OPM hits from the past years. The Juan de la Cruz band, composed of Pepe Smith, Mike Hanopol and Wally Gonzales, rocked the Sky Dome with their classic hits. After the band’s performance, they were presented with the Tambayani Award, recognizing their contribution to the local music industry.

Maja Salvador and Matteo Giudicelli, Ella Cruz and Dominic Roque also made an appearance and presented awards. The awards show was capped with a song and dance number by the Tambayan 101.9 DJs.

Complete list of winners:

  • Best New Artist – Paula Bianca
  • Best Male Artist – Christian Bautista
  • Best OPM Revival – Dahil Mahal Kit by Jovit Baldivino
  • Best Kantamercial – Nescafe Sweet and Mild
  • Best Novelty Song – Ayoko Na Sa Yo
  • Phenomenal Entertainer of the Year – Anne Curtis and Vice Ganda
  • Best Female Artist – Angeline Quinto
  • Tambayani Award – Juan de la Cruz (Pepe Smith, Mike Hanopol, Wally Gonzales)
  • Band of the Year – Kamikazee
  • Song of the Year – Kulang Ako Kung Wala Ka by Erik Santos
  • Album of the Year – Patuloy ang Pangarap by Angeline Quinto

Incoming search terms:

  • opm hits 2012 list
  • opm hits 2012
  • top opm songs 2012 list
  • opm songs 2012 list
  • new opm songs 2012 list
  • opm songs 2012
  • top opm songs 2012
  • opm songs list 2012
  • latest opm songs 2012 list
  • list of opm songs 2012

Related Posts

About The Author

Adrian Lontoc

Don’t be surprised if you see Adrian aka RAd at classical music performances, be surprised if you don’t. A regular at the symphony, he is currently working on bringing more people, especially the young ones, into the concert hall. He is also working on bridging the gap between the classical world and other music genres. Right now, RAd is immersing himself with hiphop while perfecting Shostakovich’s Piano Concerto No. 2 in F major, Op. 102.

Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Google+


  1. Posted by more on September 26th, 2013, 08:38 [Reply]

    progressively more black color air resulted in out of down below, this papa eventually evolved into some town genuine, possibly not exciting towards chat. but additionally the main one.


Join the conversation and make Music Republiq more fun by dropping a line in the comment sections. We love hearing from you as you share your own opinions and insights. That being said, comments do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of the people behind Music Republiq. We reserve the right to remove comments that we feel does not promote a healthy conversation.